2014 continues

Oh what a year it has been!
I think it’s Charles Dickens who wrote, “it was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” This line eloquently summarises the rollercoaster of a year 2014 has been thus far. But I am not one to dwell on negativity, everything happens in order to put us in the best place for the next opportunity.

I will focus on the best of times it has been for the past two weeks or so. After finishing my exams for the year (fingers triply crossed they went well) I headed straight to the city of gold, Johannesburg. You always hear people saying that a change is as good as a holiday but sometimes a holiday is really as good as a holiday. Leaving Cape Town seemed like the best way to begin my Madonna-esque reinvention, but more importantly it’s a whole new city, so there is room for a whole lot more misadventure.

The first couple of days were really chilled, if you call galavanting the city having lavish dinners where vintage champagne is ordered without batting an eyelid chilled. But the vacation really began when my best friend and partner-in-crime arrived.

From the minute we stepped into Sandton, the richest square mile in Africa, we ran into 2 rappers, got free drinks, made friends and even got propostioned by an obsecenly rich businessman. This was all in the space of one day. I literally laughed out loud at how unreal all of it was, we certainly weren’t in Cape Town anymore.

Since then things have slowed down but each day has brought new hilarious occurrences that could only happen in Joburg, 2 invites to Durban from young guys who have too much time and money, more indecent proposals and even the opportunity to star in an up and coming rapper’s latest video. If I wasn’t living this week I would laugh at how ridiculous it seems.

The attitude we have adopted for this trip is that it is one for the memoirs, there is simply too much insanity for me to go into detail right now but when the time comes it will definitely be worth a read. After last night’s shenanigans at Tiger Tiger Fourways, a popular Johannesburg nightclub, where there were R2 drinks for 2 hours I can only say that this city never disappoints.

I am not sure what new adventure will come my way today, the day is still young after all. I spoke to my granny last night and she said to me, “Act your age, being old is boring.” I pondered what she said for a minute and came to the conclusion that since she has lived more than a couple of decades, she might have this life thing figured out just a little bit.

So this weekend how about we all act our age and live it up, after all we have the rest of our lives to be boring.

Leave a comment