Regrets

I’ve finally reached the end of high school, which means the end of one chapter of my life. It’s really exciting though because right now I face a world of amazing possibilities, but this time also leads to a lot of introspection and reflection.
Looking back I’ve realized that I’ve done a lot of crazy (and fun) things that make amazing memories. I don’t believe in regrets but there are few moments where I do wish I’d done things differently, and it’s a futile train of thought considering you can’t go back and redo the past, but the other day I remembered one new year’s eve. It was my first real party and it was absolutely amazing, several dance floors, beautifully warm starry night, hot boys and girls looking to get lost in the music. Back then I was, I suppose, quite uptight so I was really just enjoying getting lost in the music and ignored any male attention. At the end of the night at about 4ish I was dancing with this absolutely gorgeous, buff Australian who was literally in town for 1 more day. He was trying every move in the book to get with me and as much as I was having fun, I didn’t say yes. Why? I can’t remember one rational reason as to why I didn’t just go with it. Nowadays I’m much more of a ‘Carpe Diem” kind of girl but maybe things would be a little different if I had always seized my day.
Already I’m facing situations where I possibly will regret saying no, I want to seize the day, but what price will I have to pay?
I know they say it’s better to have a life of “Oh wells” rather than “What ifs” but isn’t better sometimes to leave the door open, not for regrets, but for a world of unexplored possibilities?

Leave a comment